RSS

Aloha

01 Apr

So Stick brought this to my attention in one of her blog posts today.  Given that I haven’t had enough time to really work on my writing skills like I was before the move to Cincinnati, I figured this was a good way to force myself to make time to write and to utilize this new blog!

What do I start with for A?  While cooking dinner and doing dishes, I was thinking of things like ascension, allude, accredit, aerate, You get the idea.

Then I thought, aloha.

Not only is it a word from home, but a word with many meanings.  I’m betting right now that many of you are sitting there dancing in your seat thinking, I know it means hello and goodbye! Give yourself a pat on the back.

It has come to mean hello and goodbye to most.  Yes, we can greet each other with a warm, “Aloha!”, a smile, a hug, and a kiss on the cheek.

When you are immersed in the multi-cultural society of our 50th state, you realize aloha means so much more.

It’s the breath of life.  Inhaling the good.  Exhaling the toxic.

It’s the love and compassion we show others.

It lives in us.  It breathes in us.  It is in all we do.

I can’t help but think of my multitude of aunties, uncles, cousins, and grandparents that embody aloha. I’ve got a warm fuzzy right now thinking of them.

This embodiment of aloha is something I strive to demonstrate every day.  One of the therapists I used to work with told me she thought of grace when thinking of one word to describe me.  I cried when she told me that simply because it was one thing my mother always told me I wasn’t.  Strictly in the physical sense mind you.  But her sarcasm used in calling me Grace every time I tripped, got my hand caught in a door, or hurt myself in any other manner (falling down stairs with a chair?  Yup, that was me) led to me equate the word grace with me being a klutz.  Looking back at that moment, because the therapist did explain her choice, I realize that the grace she spoke of is the aloha in my being.

When you look in other cultures, aloha is there as a rose by another name.  The question is whether this is something you want as a part of you.  Something you make a conscious effort to work on daily.  A thing to put others before yourself (as much as reasonable).  This is something others will see growing in you.  They will recognize that change and comment on it.  And, if you ever have a chance to visit my home, locals will recognize it within you.

Malama pono.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “Aloha

  1. Mom

    April 1, 2011 at 4:16 am

    Funny you should use that particular word. I have been reading my book and the first section is about Aloha. One of the stories was about an old Hawai’ian woman explaining Aloha to her granddaughter – “Alo” means the bosom, the center of the universe. “Ha” is the breath of God. It is not just a word or greeting. It is a feeling, a recognition of the divine. I like that part. I always thought it meant more than hello or goodby or even I love you. I like your first choice. 🙂

     
    • hunterslyonesse

      April 1, 2011 at 1:32 pm

      Thanks, Mom. 😀 I was thinking of you and your books while I was typing it up, too. 🙂

       
  2. Summer Ross

    April 1, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    I never really thought about this word much- thanks for posting it for the a-z!

     
  3. Mary

    April 1, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Aloha! It’s meanings are as beautiful as the sound.

    Welcome to A-Z..

    GigglesandGuns

     
  4. Holly Jahangiri

    April 2, 2011 at 2:29 am

    It’s a beautiful word, and one I came to appreciate during three trips to the islands. “Grace” is a good way of putting it.

    “…the grace she spoke of is the aloha in my being…” Indeed.

    Holly Jahangiri
    It’s All a Matter of Perspective

     

Leave a Reply

 
