RSS

Dismal

05 Apr

 

College graduation dinner after the ceremony at Yum Yum Tree

 

Writers tend to convey their mood in their writing whether they mean to or not.  Most of the time I don’t mean to.  At the same time, I do.  Writing is a form of therapy for me.  It’s how I deal with things without killing anyone.  Prison orange isn’t for me.

I dealt with a lot during my college years and at the same time, I was playing with poetry a lot.

One day I set out to write a poem using a lot of D words.  No, not THE D word.  Just words starting with the letter D.  I might cuss in a moment of stress or frustration, but I honestly feel that using non-expletives is a better way to express yourself.

I thought this would be a good poem to share with you for D.  Reading through it, I realized just how dismal I really was at the time I wrote it.  Just know that when I set out to write this, my intention wasn’t to be so dark.  It was just to use as many D words as I could.  Apparently all the D words I thought of were dreary.

Dismal

Drop after drop

one by one

into the abyss.

-How do they return?

 

Day after day,

minute by minute

they hunt and hunt.

-When does it end?

 

Deep and dark

is the home

they are sent to.

 

Deprived and depressed

is the mind they taunt

relentlessly to madness.

 

Doomed are the docile,

the weak and meek,

when left to their own device.

 

Dreary thoughts

drown out the

rest of the world.

 

Dissonance rings

in dour ears

as they drown a dream.

 

Defeat is to be

expected by

their divided hands.

© Debi Smith, 1993

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Dismal

  1. NiaRaie

    April 5, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    Hey this was a good poem. Sometimes this part feels so true: “Doomed are the docile,

    the weak and meek,

    when left to their own device”

     
    • hunterslyonesse

      April 5, 2011 at 1:49 pm

      Thank you, NiaRaie! Yeah, I was contemplating that last night as I was typing it up. Reminded me of some friends that I have that are like that.

       
  2. Sharon Mayhew

    April 6, 2011 at 3:49 am

    I loved your poem! My writing often reflects my moods too, especially when it comes to poetry.

     

Leave a Reply

 
