RSS

Karma

13 Apr

 

Buddha at Valley of the Temples, Hawai`i

 

I am a firm believer in karma.  In Christendom it’s called, reaping what you sow.  I am a Christian, but karma is so much easier to say and they are basically the same in modern-day use.

I’m always reminding my friend, JP, about karma when he’s engaging in jackassery or telling us about his latest jackassery. Then when it comes back on him, I simply say, “Karma.  Bitch.”  Gets a laugh from our friends.

Laughs aside, what you sow, you really do reap.  We many not always see what someone sows because it might take a while for it to reach fruition.  This is one of the many reasons why I try to be positive with others and put out positivity even when I just want to rant with various expletives in public.  I try to save the ranting for private.  My fellow gluten-free blogger friend, Shirley, calls me her own personal gfe cheerleader and has described me as having your own personal cheerleader in your pocket.  Pretty true.  I like to encourage people and give praise where it is due.

It takes so much less energy to give off that vibe rather than wallow in anger or misery all the time.  I’ve wallowed.  I know.  It sucks the life right out of you and gives you nothing in return except more misery.  I can control what I say and do, not always what I think and feel.  It’s how I act on those thoughts and emotions that determine what I sow.

When I have to deal with someone who is rude, mean, lacks integrity and/or just can’t be anything other than negative, I keep in the back of my mind that one day karma will take a huge chunk out of their ass.  I might not be there to see it, but I know they will get theirs unless they change their ways.  I can’t control them.  But I can control how I act on how they affect me.  The truly toxic people do not get my time or energy because they drained too much of both already.  Others, well, that’s on a case by case basis.

I’m happy to say that I don’t have too many people in my life in which that is an issue.  I’m blessed to have so many family and friends that are encouraging, positive, and helpful.

 

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Karma

  1. Iris

    April 14, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    You are so very right. I always have to remind myself that even when I can’t change my feelings, I can change my actions, and by doing that, I might change my thoughts, which could lead to changing my feelings. So I better act happy and positive, yes? 🙂

     
    • hunterslyonesse

      April 14, 2011 at 8:30 pm

      Yes, Iris! I find the more I focus on positive things, the more I naturally think, feel, and act that way. 😀

       
  2. Andrea S. Michaels

    April 16, 2011 at 11:17 am

    I wish I could trust karma to get back at people who hurt me but as far as I can see, karma’s only a bitch to some of us – there’s always those lucky ones who escape somehow…
    But otherwise I totally agree – it’s much much better to focus on the good things and keep your chin up.
    – andrea, an A to Z participant
    ps: I’ve almost chosen this layout as well! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
