RSS

Reduce – Reuse – Recycle

21 Apr

Tomorrow is Earth Day.  Most people are conscious of this and make an effort to do something that day to reduce, reuse, and/or recycle their waste.  One day a year isn’t enough though.

Each year, I’ve made Earth Day my day to find something new to add to my list of things that I do to follow the R’s.  Last year, I was composting and growing a container garden.  Sadly, neither of those worked out well. Flies decided to get in my compost and reproduce.  Maggots were crawling out and falling down to our neighbor’s patio.  My garden.  Well, it stayed green, but never produced fruits or vegetables once they flowered.  That’s a step up from me growing just dirt, though.

The Diva Cup

One thing I did start using is the Diva Cup.  It reduces the amount of waste every month from using pads or tampons.  It can be messy to insert, take out, and clean.  But, you only have to do twice a day.  They are good for one year before you need a new one.  Whole Foods now carries them.  If you don’t have a Whole Foods in your area or another health food store that carries them, you can find a host of sites online that sell them.

This year, I’m trying to re-use (up-cycle if you will) things like clothes, linens, etc.  I normally take our clothes in to the Goodwill.  However, the clothes that they won’t take usually get turned in to rags.  I have a ton of rags.  I keep a basket of them in my kitchen to use in place of paper towels.  I also have some good dresses that I just don’t wear anymore, but they are still good to use as something else.  Skirts.  Bags.  Oh the ideas I have.  I just need the time to do them.

It’s not always easy to make these changes.  To be conscious of what you buy, what you use and the effects the waste has on our environment.  Start with turning your old clothes into rags and stop buying paper towels.  Use cloth napkins.  Your bank account will thank you.  Find a recycling center near you to recycle some of your waste if you don’t have pick up where you live.  Look into recycling old electronics rather than tossing them in the trash.  Use recyclable bags at the grocery and other stores.  I even have reusable produce bags that I can wash between uses.

Start small and work your way up to more and more.  One day, I hope we can live in a place where we can use solar and geothermal energy.  I’d like to be able to compost without having maggots invade the neighbors.  I’d like to grow a garden in the ground rather than in containers.  Until then, I’ll make the changes I can.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Reduce – Reuse – Recycle

  1. MPax

    April 21, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    Sometimes I wonder why we need so much stuff. My grandparents used to reuse everything – wrapping paper, bows, bread bags, containers … everything.

     
    • hunterslyonesse

      April 21, 2011 at 10:35 pm

      MPax, my grandparents did, too. On my mother’s side, they both grew up during the Depression so saving what they could to reuse got hard wired into them. I remember finding all kinds of things that Granny had saved to reuse after she passed away. My aunties and I all laughed at this, but we do the same thing. Exactly what we learned from her. Only it wasn’t to save the Earth, it was simply the economics of it. Looking at the bigger picture, you not only save money, you save landfills, too. 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
