RSS

It Happens In Threes

21 Sep

I know I’ve been silent since my last post.  I didn’t mean to be but things happened.  Death happened.  Imagine that, right?  Especially since my last post was about funerals.

The day after my last post, a co-worker passed away.  However, we didn’t find out until that Friday.  Talk about shock.  She was 23.  TWENTY-THREE.  With a young son.  Did I mention she was 23?  I didn’t know her well, but I loved when she worked because her smiled warmed me when I’d see her at the check lanes.  She had a beautiful smile.  I still walk up there sometimes and think, I’m never going to see her smile again.  It almost feels like when my sensei passed and I had to go back to the store where he worked, realizing that I was never going to run into him while he was stocking dairy ever again.  Yes, I cried when I walked by the dairy case that first time and for quite a while after that.

That same day that I found out about her passing, a grandmother in my family passed.  I didn’t find out until the next day though.  As I was still reeling from my co-worker’s passing, I didn’t really process the news.  It wasn’t sinking in.  Just sat there on the surface, waiting.

That was Saturday.

Come Monday, news of another grandmother’s passing the night before.  It slapped me in the face.  3 people in under a week.  A bright young woman and 2 beloved grandmothers.

It’s been a few weeks and it’s still sinking in as I try to grieve and still function.  It’s not the first time I’ve lost 3 people I knew in 1 week and I know it won’t be the last.  It’s just hard right now knowing every time I go home now, I will never see either grandmother or get to hear them bug me about not having kids or hear them say, “You remember me?”

Yes, I remember you.  I remember all of you.  Fondly.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

One response to “It Happens In Threes

Leave a Reply

 
