RSS

The Pick Up

21 Oct

Some days at work, the plan goes out the window and we all work together to tackle something together.  While it’s frustrating that things I wanted to get done aren’t getting done, I do enjoy being able to work on things with my co-workers and have a bit of fun at the same time.

Wednesday was one of those days.  We were talking, joking, having a great time.  Another co-worker came to join us to get away from a guy who was trying to hit on her while she was working.  She put it a great way.  It’s her place of work and some guys seem to think it’s okay to hit on women while they are working.

It made me ask her, “What is the worst pick up line you’ve heard?”  Well, before she could answer, one of the guys piped up and said, “Eh. You’ll do.”  Wow.  Right?

I still remember, quite vividly, the worst pick up line used on me.

I was standing outside TGI Friday’s in Honolulu waiting for one of my aunties to arrive because we were having dinner together.  I’m minding my own business and all of a sudden I hear behind me, “You look like you’re waiting for a glass of champagne.”

I did a slow turn around, “Excuuuuuuse me?”  I really couldn’t believe what I heard.  I couldn’t believe what I saw, either.

The man was at least twice my age (I was still in college at that time), full beard and mustache, dress shirt unbuttoned halfway, and gold chains hanging around his neck.  I had to stifle a laugh.  If you’re old enough to remember, I was thinking of Lounge Lizard Larry.  Then I thought of Larry from Three’s Company.  Of course neither of them had a mustache or beard, but they were pick up artists.

I stunned him with my response because it took him a few to compose himself and reply, “My friends and I were at the bar and we saw you standing out here and thought you were waiting for a glass of champagne.”

I should mention that I was also under 21 at the time.  And, when I shot men down, I was direct and well, mean.

“I’m waiting for my Auntie, not a glass of champagne.”

He turned around and walked back in to the bar with his tail between his legs.

So, while we were talking about pick up lines.  I asked what happened to just saying hello and striking up a conversation.  One of the guys said, “It doesn’t work!”

Really now.

I’ve never liked pick up lines.  Never.

They might show that a man is witty.  For at least two lines.  I like witty guys.  But, I also like smart guys and guys who aren’t intimidated by me.  I can be pretty intimidating.

I would rather a guy approach me, say hello, introduce himself and start a conversation than have him approach me with a corny pick up line.

That’s just me.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
