RSS

Project 52: Fiesta or Siesta

04 May

This is one of the quilts I brought home with me from my trip.  My grandmother and great-grandmother were always making quilts for the family.  The closets in the house are full of their quilts. I have one small quilt still from when I was a kid.  I have several more they gave me through the years.  These quilts are their love.  I can wrap myself up in them.  They are a part of my childhood and those of my cousins, nieces, and nephews.

Big gatherings meant a huge quilt was laid out on the living room floor for nap time and bedtime.  Another one was used as a cover.  All through college and until I moved to Kentucky, one of the quilts made for me covered my bed. I laid one out on our guest bed when my uncle spent the night as he came through town the week Grandma passed.

The day I got in to Moloka`i and Auntie A took me to the house, I looked through all the closets as I went through the house.  I came out of one of the rooms hugging this one.  It was one I used to make forts with when Uncle A.J. and I were kids.  Just one of them.  A lot of those quilts held memories.  I took the quilt with me to the condo I rented for the week and Auntie told me to take it home with me.

And in other news…

I just happened to start developing a recipe this week for mushroom tacos.  😀

project 52 p52 weekly photo challenge my3boybarians.com

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Project 52: Fiesta or Siesta

  1. Donna

    May 4, 2012 at 9:37 pm

    Looks good. I love mushrooms.

     

Leave a Reply

 
