RSS

Call Me Ana

08 Jul
scan0011

A picture of Ana at about 4 or so.

Writing has always been a form of therapy for me.  It’s a way to process through and deal with emotions, as well as a way to get things out that are swimming in my head and getting in the way.  However, not every thing I write is about dealing with things. Sometimes it is inspired by those small moments that catch your breath.  This poem is about one of those moments.

I was on an airplane to Maui with my aunties, uncles, and cousins when this seemingly insignificant scene played out between two of my cousins.  It resonated somewhere within me and I had to write about it.  I can still remember that moment clear as day.  It still makes me smile.

Call Me Ana

Call the child by a name

she does not like

and you won’t get an answer.

She responds when she hears

someone say, “Andrea” or “Ana.”

Call her Annie

and she ignores you for a while,

then says in her three-year old voice,

“Call me Ana.”

© 1992, Debi Smith

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Call Me Ana

  1. Shirley @ gluten free easily

    July 14, 2012 at 8:37 pm

    Sweet! That one will not have a problem asserting herself in the future. 😉

    Shirley

     
    • hunterslyonesse

      July 14, 2012 at 8:46 pm

      I should’ve posted a current pic of her. She’s all grown up now. 😀 And she’s very good at asserting herself! Runs in the family, I think. lol

       

Leave a Reply

 
