RSS

Musical Inspiration

08 Nov

MusicI am the type of writer who needs music while writing. It helps elicit moods from me that I want to impart in my writing. It paces my typing (sort of). It drives some of my storylines, especially when I use songs with lyrics that parallel the story. There is never enough music in my day.

I listen to a lot of music. I always have. It vexed my mother to no end when I would refuse to turn off the music while doing my homework. After all, parents were told we were supposed to do homework in a quiet environment. Not me. I needed rhythm. Something to keep my brain from frying while doing geometry proofs or memorizing dates for history.

I love music with a beat that makes me move or propels me forward. I love songwriters who can write in such a way that I react viscerally. I love songs with a meaningful story. I love being transported somewhere else in my head for just a few minutes.

I listened to Goo Goo Dolls’ Dizzy Up The Girl album when I started my book fourteen years ago. I kept it on repeat in the CD player. Once MP3s came out and I got my first iPod, I built a playlist that I have added to through the years. I’ve listened to it so much that I think of those songs as Sara and Jason’s.

I started writing about J.D. and Ari listening to “Why Was It So Easy” by Daryl Hall. When I felt compelled to continue their story, I listened to Depeche Mode’s Violator album. I cannot tell you how many times I listened to it. My playlist grew as the story progressed. The lyrics of the songs used for the titles related to J.D., Ari, or later, Lance’s perspective.

P!nk, Kelly Clarkson, and Avril Lavigne have figured into the background while working on another story. I find their music empowering for females, especially P!nk. It’s not often you find a female artist going back to the theme of loving yourself as you are and your true worth, a message one of my characters needs to discover.

I am still trying to find my musical inspiration for NaNoWriMo. For now, it is Butch Walker.

Butch Walker at A&R Music Bar, 11/3/13

Butch Walker at A&R Music Bar, 11/3/13

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Musical Inspiration

Leave a Reply

 
