RSS

Top 10 Songs For Driving With The Top Down

27 Jun

ConvertibleIt is officially summer, but motorcycles and convertibles with tops down have been out for weeks. And honestly, I’ve been sitting on this Top 10 list for a while. Things just kept getting in the way demanding to be shared before I could share this.

My Twitter bestie, Katie Oliver, shared an article on the top songs to listen to with the top down. Of course I had other ideas and I tweeted “My Sharona” to her. This turned into a rapid fire Twitter conversation of songs we would both want to listen to while in a convertible with the top down. Some fun. Some chill. Some with memories attached. All great songs.

“The City” – The 1975

I want to cruise Waiks (what the locals call Waikiki) at night listening to this song. And for those who have never cruised Waikiki at night, you’re more like crawling. There were nights I swore I could get out of the car and walk faster than traffic was going.

“Ventura Highway” – America

This is one of those songs I can picture myself driving down Pacific Coast Highway on a beautiful day without a care in the world and the “free wind is blowin’ through” my hair.

“Love Shack” – The B-52s

This was one of Katie’s picks. I kicked myself for not thinking of it before her. After all, they filmed part of the video in a convertible. It only makes sense!

“Never Let Me Down Again” – Depeche Mode

My best friend took a long ride with me one night from Encinitas to Vista in my parent’s mini-van. We listened to Depeche Mode’s Music for the Masses on the way and back. We both squee’d (before anyone knew what a squee was) when “Never Let Me Down Again” came up in rotation. Did I mention we were in a mini-van? It would have been so much cooler if we had been in the Mercury Cougar, but I could barely see over the dashboard to feel comfortable driving it at night.

“Peaceful, Easy Feeling” – Eagles

The title speaks for itself.

“Rockafeller Skank” – Fatboy Slim

Exciting times in the car with this one. I would share my thoughts with you, but they are dangerous and I would have to put a big WARNING: DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME on it.

“My Sharona” – The Knack

Back when a friend and I were working together in Louisville, she leased a blue convertible. She swung by my place after picking it up (both of us had one day off together every week) and I grabbed my Reality Bites soundtrack before leaving with her to just drive around town. Wild is what happened in the car when “My Sharona” came up.

“Could You Be Loved” – Koa`uka

This one always reminds me of home because it was used in Blue Crush. It’s my favorite part of the movie. This cover of Bob Marley just begs to be played while driving around any of the Hawaiian islands with the top down. Really, any Hawaiian, Jawaiian (Hawaiian music with reggae influence), or reggae song would be perfect.

“Tainted Love” – Soft Cell

I admit, I would put this on just about every playlist I have. It’s one of my top songs from the 80s despite it being a bit stalker-ish,

“Jessie’s Girl” – Rick Springfield

Another Katie pick. Or was it my pick because I knew she’d eventually pick it? She loves “Jessie’s Girl” and Rick Springfield and it makes a great fun song to dance in your seat to while the wind whips your hair in every direction, or while perfectly waiting for a red light to turn green.

 

You can find the full playlist here on YouTube. Find previous Top 10 lists on Kennedy Ryan’s blog:

Top 10 Beats Between The Sheets

Top 10 I’m Angry & I Know it

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 27, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Top 10 Songs For Driving With The Top Down

  1. thhernandez

    June 28, 2014 at 2:04 am

    I was with you until you slipped in a Depressed Mode song.

     
    • Debi Smith

      June 28, 2014 at 11:58 am

      Aw, Depeche Mode isn’t always depressing. 😉

       
  2. gdwest123

    June 28, 2014 at 10:05 am

    Thanks Debi, you mentioned some of my best songs ever. I was thinking of Love Shack just the other day. Keep on rocking

     
    • Debi Smith

      June 28, 2014 at 11:59 am

      Love Shack is a great feel good song! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
