RSS

The Work In Progress (WIP) Blog Tour

05 Sep

Family TiesMy friend Bianca Sloane, who weaves masterful thrillers about the dark side of love, tagged me in the Work In Progress blog tour. Her books are page turners and I am eagerly awaiting her next one, Every Breath You Take. You can read more about it here.

The Rules: Link back to the person who nominated you. Share a little bit about your WIP then the first sentence from the first three chapters. Nominate four writers to do the same.

Family Ties started out as a way to deal with carrying my clients’ pain and the stress involved in my profession. I kept writing in spurts when I could handle the emotional fallout. I told myself if nothing else, it would be okay if I finished and never published it. Finishing it was enough.

When I completed the first draft fourteen years later, it wasn’t enough. I discovered I wasn’t writing it for me like I thought I was. I was writing it for my boys. I told their stories the only way I knew how, by creating a new one. Their story needs to be shared with those in similar situations with little to no hope. I shared more about this story here.

Chapter 1

“The roar of a moving van pulling into the house across the street averts my attention from the cherry popsicle in my hand.”

Chapter 2

“I jump and scan the living room, den, and hallway.”

Chapter 3

“Arissa and I walk to Encinitas High School for our first day of school together.”

I’m tagging four a writers and friends in alphabetical order so no one can accuse me of playing favorites, because they are all amazing in their own right.

Douglas B. Wimmer: He’s funny and fun to banter with on Twitter. He is in the process of writing an amazing novel full of action (and Easter Eggs for me, not me specifically – you get my drift).  He has excellent taste in music and isn’t afraid to throw himself under the bus if it means everyone else gets a giggle from it. We got to know each other much better when he thought he was talking me off the ledge from deleting one of my WIPs (not Family Ties) along with mutual friend, Tara Harlow. Those are good friends, people!

Katie Oliver: Katie had me laughing with her blog before we became friends. Now we tweet each other regularly and on the occasion when stars collide, we collaborate. Her talent for writing RomCom is off the charts (in my books) and her books, Prada & Prejudice, Love & Liability, and Mansfield Lark, are worth every cent.

Sonya Craig: Sonya is a sci-fi writer and talented artist. She’s an extrovert and I love seeing her tweets on my feed because I know they will make me laugh or make me think. Both are good for the soul. And if you like hot cars, you need to follow her on Twitter. She loves posting pictures of hot cars. And fat cats. Particularly her cat, Fat Cat.

Stephanie Neighbour: There are times when I read Stephanie’s blog then tweet her something like, “Our mothers could have been sisters.” Or, “What if our mothers were the same person?” In either case I’d have a super cool cousin or a rad sister. I’m certainly okay with either one because Stephanie is an awesome person who makes me laugh (notice how everyone here makes me laugh?). She also has two adorable Dachshunds, Chip and Autumn, who visit the blog on occasion. And don’t get her started on her mail or snow in Jersey. hehehe

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 5, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “The Work In Progress (WIP) Blog Tour

  1. D. Emery Bunn

    September 6, 2014 at 1:57 am

    I’m reading her WIP right now, and you guys are all in for a treat. Just saying.

     

Leave a Reply

 
