RSS

Follow Me

16 Jan

TwitterTwitter can be a funny place. I don’t mean funny ha ha. I mean funny strange.

I joined almost four years ago at the behest of my gluten-free blogger friends. When I first started, I tended to follow everyone back who followed me; usually other gluten-free bloggers I knew or blog followers looking to interact with me. It was a nice little symbiosis. Those friends who make up my gluten-free tribe look to help and interact with each other. It’s not just, “I’m just going to tweet my latest blog posts and leave.” No, this is not just promoting their own blog, but everyone else’s too, and chatting with each other in the process. Because chatting is how you make friends (in case anyone forgot).

As my focus shifted from my gluten-free blogging to publishing my novel, I’ve made friends with more writers. This also changed how I chose to follow people. I couldn’t just follow every one back because it wasn’t working for me. There are authors who only market tweet. There are authors who market tweet and retweet every single tweet on their timeline. There are authors who tweet nearly/full naked pictures as part of their promos all day long. There is only so much “BUY MY BOOK”,SoAndSoWrites retweeted, and bare ass I can handle. It’s not what I want to see when I’m on social media.

I’m not saying if you’re an author to never do the “BUY MY BOOK” tweet. Every half an hour is overkill in my book. Chat with people in between marketing tweets. Be social. And I’m not saying never retweet either. Retweets are helpful. But not every single tweet in your feed. As a nurse I used to work with said, “Use your critical thinking skills.” As for the naked/almost naked pictures, well…those get old…fast.

When someone follows me, I check their feed. I look to see how much they retweet, how much they market, and how much they interact. If they only retweet, I don’t follow back. If they only market, I don’t follow back. I don’t see the value in wading through that muck to get to the tweets from people looking for real engagement. I’d end up scrolling past it without paying attention anyway. I tend to follow people I see interacting with followers. Because social media.

I’m never going to follow someone with information about buying followers in their profile. If you beg me for a follow back or play games by repeatedly following or unfollowing me, I won’t follow back. It’s my choice to follow back just as it is everyone’s choice to follow me in the first place. If someone wants a follow back, they’d get one if they actually engaged me in conversation. This isn’t the elementary school playground or the Junior High dance. And if you protect your tweets and then ask me why I’m not following you back, perhaps my not following you back isn’t your biggest problem.

For Pete’s sake, stop DMing people something you can tweet in the open.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Follow Me

  1. thhernandez

    January 17, 2015 at 2:35 am

    I don’t know, @AdamDreece had me laughing so hard on Twitter the other morning, coffee came out my nose. But I absolutely get your point. I live by lists. And my ClozeTargets (which you are in). Otherwise I’d get lost. Also, where do I find these authors tweeting naked photos? I need some of that.

     
    • Debi Smith

      January 19, 2015 at 5:34 pm

      lol Adam is good for that. 😀 I love the lists too, but sometimes I miss the exchanges when I use the lists. If you want the naked photos, look for the romance/erotica writers. Some of them are the ones tweeting those. But be careful. I can’t even look at Henry Cavill anymore because he’s so overused as book boyfriend inspiration.

       
      • debbieomusic

        January 31, 2015 at 4:20 pm

        I totally agree! We’ve made some fun, tribal friends on Twitter!!! I’m not into repetition Ad Nauseam either (and buying followers – No!!)

        (Adam has a GREAT balance!!)

        Thx for sharing your thoughts!!! 💕

         
  2. Norm 2.0

    January 19, 2015 at 5:44 pm

    Great post which I found because of a RT btw 🙂
    There’s a new feature on Twitter (at least I think it’s new) that allows you to turn off RT’s in your main feed from anyone you choose.

     
    • Debi Smith

      January 19, 2015 at 5:47 pm

      I use the turn off retweets on an individual basis. It’s the best! 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
