RSS

My Favorite Screen Characters

27 Feb

Rocket GotG

My friend, Adam Dreece, tagged me to share My 10 Favorite Screen Characters. Wait, I can only choose TEN?

Rocket – Guardians of the Galaxy

A genius raccoon whose first language is sarcasm. Why wouldn’t I love him? I mean, there is a reason why Adam calls me Rocket.

Princess Leia – Star Wars

Titles and diplomatic upbringing aside, when push comes to shove and everyone around her is bickering, she grabs a blaster and gets the job done.

Peggy Carter – Captain America: The First Avenger, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., Agent Carter

“I know my value. Anyone else’s opinion doesn’t matter.”

Jack Bauer – 24

He’s Jack Bauer. Do I really have to explain?

Charlie’s Angels

No, not the movie. The original TV show with Kate Jackson, Jaclyn Smith, and Farrah Fawcett. They taught me that women could be more than secretaries, cheerleaders, or teachers.

Raymond Reddington – The Blacklist

I’m a thinker while watching TV/movies and reading. I look for where things are going and figure out twists before they happen. But when Red launches into a story, I never know if it’s a real memory or if he’s bullshitting us. Then there is the I’m-bored-with-you look he gets with whoever he’s interrogating right before he shoots him in the head.

Sons of Anarchy

Honestly, Kurt Sutter wrote in such a way that each character really could not exist and be who they were without the others and the struggles they all lived through. They functioned as a dysfunctional family. A modern day Hamlet.

Will McAvoy – The Newsroom

I fell in love with Will from the start. You could say we lean the same way in politics. What I loved as well, was how the news show was run – the way news should be run.

Dr. Spencer Reid – Criminal Minds

While Derek Morgan might be the show’s best eye candy, Spencer proves that smart is sexy.

Tyrion Lannister – Game of Thrones

Despite everything and everyone fighting against him, he’s the only one who truly has the bigger picture in his grasp and works towards it for everyone’s benefit. Even if they’re too blinded to see it. Peter Dinklage does a marvelous job bringing life to a character that I first fell in love with on paper.

Bryan Mills – Taken

He has a particular set of skills…

Starbuck – Battlestar Galactica (reboot)

The reboot of one of my favorite childhood shows brought a darker tale to the screen. Starbuck was no longer just a cigar-smoking, womanizing pilot. She was an ace pilot, smoked cigars, played cards, threw punches if someone set her off, tormented by guilt, and loved a man she could never really have until she found the one who loved her unconditionally.

Felicity Smoak – Arrow

She’s a geek who wears glasses and makes a polo shirt and khaki uniform look good. Not only that, she’s the voice of reason for everyone around her and the glue that keeps the team together.

What? You really thought I was going to keep it to ten? HA!

And now I get to tag Douglas B. Wimmer! Because I’m an awesome twin li’dat.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 27, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “My Favorite Screen Characters

  1. Adam Dreece

    February 27, 2015 at 1:26 pm

    I love the list and found a few of my other favorites there: Rocket, Starbuck, Tyrion. Good list!

     
    • Debi Smith

      February 27, 2015 at 6:49 pm

      Of course! I think we know we have many favorite shows in common. 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
